Podcasts

Forums HEGFA Podcasts

This topic contains 7 replies, has 6 voices, and was last updated by johnny salas 08/14/18/09:27.

• Author

Let’s talk about them. I love them. I’ve been listening to them for about ten years now. The come and go and some are great and then suck and some just rule forever. I’m in a bit of rut right now, I’d appreciate some suggestions! I’ll drop some too.

THE BEST SHOW
    Comedy podcasts are a dime a fucking hundred these days. Comedy podcasts are kind of responsible for the podcast boom we’re in. Comedy grabbed onto the medium and pushed it hard and fast. i don’t really dig any of them anymore, but one. The only one. THE BEST SHOW. Three hours of Mirth, Music and Mayhem. It’s first and foremost a live radio show and then the next day is a podcast. It’s been going since 1999. Since Clinton was in office. It was originally on a freeform radio station in NJ, WFMU, but in 2014 went independent. It’s now a internet radio show/podcast. Live from 9p-12a EST every Tuesday night. It’s a call in show with scripted comedy bits too. The live call-in aspect puts it above every comedy podcast ever. All these comedy podacasts are four dudes talking shit and running out of steam after 45 minutes. Tom holds the show for three hours, mainly by himself, every week. Its kind of hard to explain the thing in whole and I could go on forever. It’s one of the only things in life that brings me pure pure pure joy. Also, every show since 1999 is archived and available for free. It’s a treasure trove of joy.

http://thebestshow.net/

EAR HUSTLE
    This one is newer and recently finished it’s second season. It’s created by prisoners in San Quentin State Prison in CA. Two of the inmates make it and one co-hosts it with a artist from the Bay. The record it, edit it, sound design it in the media lab in San Quentin. Every episode has a different topic and they interview prisoners for it. It’s a fascinating, heartbreaking and often funny listen.